I Flip My Latkes in the Air Sometimes…

…not really. Cuz that’d be way dangerous, and I’d probably splatter myself with oil and have to be rushed to the hospital to be treated for 2nd degree burns. But it is a line in this catchy little tune that I sang all night while making latkes of my own.

(For those of you who didn’t know, it’s a re-do of Taio Cruz’s song “Dynamite” which is still relatively popular on pop radio).

And though I myself am not Jewish, I don’t see that as a reason not to enjoy and celebrate in this rich tradition of Jewish foods with Alex at this time of year.

And here are some other things we’ve been enjoying recently:

Let there be light! (And may I irrationally hope that I come out of this week lighter than I feel…) Still on tap for this week of celebration: braised shoulder of veal, mashed turnips and potatoes, stuffed cabbage, and knishes–stay tuned!

Oh, and I suppose I can share my latkes recipe:

Potato Latkes
Makes about 20 latkes

1. – 3 russet potatoes
– 1 yellow onion
Peel and shred the veggies using the wide holes on a box grater. Place in a clean kitchen towel over an empty bowl. When you’re finished, wring out the moisture through the towel (there will be a lot).

2. Get a frying pan heating up on medium-high heat on the stovetop. Also heat your oven to 200F and put an oven-safe plate in the oven.

3. – 2 lightly beaten eggs
– 1/4 cup (or a bit less) all-purpose flour
– salt and pepper
Add to the potato/onion mixture in a large bowl. Fold to combine with a spoon or fork.

4. Heat enough oil in your frying pan to comfortably cover the bottom of the pan. Add latkes batter by the heaping spoonful, pressing down to a flatter shape once it’s sizzling away. Cook for about 2 minutes on each side or until they turn a lovely caramel brown color. Drain briefly on some paper towels, then slide each into the oven to keep warm (and crisp) until you’re ready to plate. (But watch out – they may disappear before you have a chance to do so!). Repeat until you’ve used all the batter. Serve warm with applesauce (or other sauce of your choice).

Tagged

4 thoughts on “I Flip My Latkes in the Air Sometimes…

  1. Alan says:

    Way to go Jess! I wish I were there to taste some of your creations…they all look delicious!

  2. […] potatoes because I like to use the leftovers to make mashed potato pancakes. Similar concept as latkes, except the potatoes are, well, mashed. Today I flavored mine with some dried oregano and a bit of […]

  3. […] actually quite like the latkes I made back in December just, you know, summerier. I enjoyed them for lunch, but they’d also make a great breakfast […]

  4. […] re-posting my recipe for latkes in case you are interested in flipping yours in the air sometime(s) this […]

Leave a Reply

