Po-tay-to, Po-tah-to

Just a quick post tonight to show you our quick dinner and tell you how I like to make my oven potatoes. (Why am I in such a hurry? I’m trying to make some time to prepare some edible holiday gifts).

Macademia-crusted Tilapia, Green Beans with Goat Cheese, Oven-Baked Potato Chips

I picked up that fish already prepared in its macademia nut crust and cooked it in some butter in a skillet on the stovetop. The green beans were boiled in salted water for 5 minutes, drained and rinsed under cool water, and then sauteed in some chili oil in a wok for a few minutes; served with a couple pinches of goat cheese. I made the potatoes like I do any roasted potatoes; I just cut them to look more like chips.

And here’s how I make my oven potatoes: Heat your oven to at least 350F (this is a convenient temperature if you have something else to cook in the oven too; if not, I usually raise the heat up to about 375-400F.

Season the potatoes with a fairly generous drizzle of olive oil. Sprinkle with kosher salt, ground black pepper, a little bit of garlic powder, and a very small amount of cayenne pepper. Toss them about with your hands to distribute the seasonings. Bake for about 30 minutes, flipping halfway through.

With those seasoning instructions, you can cut the potatoes any way you like – wedges, small cubes, slices, and even steak fries. Works every time!

We’re up to our ears busy in holiday baking, packaging, decorating, and other shenanigans. So I’m off to create more things to write about in future posts. Stay tuned to see what I come up with. Aaand cue Christmas music!

 

Tagged

3 thoughts on “Po-tay-to, Po-tah-to

  1. Brian Elliott says:

    Looks yummy!!!!!love, Mom

  2. […] a friend pointed out, yes, I suppose I have been on a goat cheese kick lately (evidence here and here and here). But once you buy some, you’re always looking for ways to use it. And it’s […]

  3. […] Pork Chops (thanks to Stay at Stove Dad; click here for my roasted potatoes) Yum Factor: Alex – 6, Jessalyn – […]

Leave a Reply

