Baby, It’s Cold Outside!

And not only is it cold, it’s snowing! Oh, baby!

Dear Jack Frost, In the cleansing spirit of the first “big” snowfall of the year, I choose to forgive you for causing my car to slip and slide all over the road. I hope you hate the smell of cinnamon. Love, Jessalyn

Allow me to explain. When I was growing up, back when we had our first (now retired) bread machine, the instructional booklet it came with contained a recipe for cinnamon rolls. At the time, the whole Cinnabon phenomenon was just catching on, so we delighted in making our own. The first time Mom made them was on a snowy day that my brother and I had off from school. (Keep in mind this is Virginia – we work ourselves into a tizzy over the mere suggestion of winter weather).  We had come inside from making snow angels and snowmen and pelting each other with snowballs until it was seeping into our socks and gloves and the smell of that melted cinnamon with the vanilla glaze completely won us over.

Since then, it became a tradition for Mom to make cinnamon buns on the first big snow of the year. Of course, as we grew older and stronger, the trade-off was my brother and I had to shovel the driveway. And while we were outside freezing our buns, Mom was inside making some.

Suffice it to say, I simply associate cinnamon buns with snow. So when Jack Frost paid us a little visit this morning, the first smell that I pulled from my olfactory memory bank was baked cinnamon.

And partly because I want to start my own traditions while  also celebrating my past (and partly because I need to bake some holiday gifts), I made some cinnamon swirl bread this afternoon. Specifically, Judy’s Board of Directors Cinnamon Raisin Bread (minus the raisins) from my favorite Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day cookbook. And when I ran out of loaf pans, I used a brioche pan.

And since these were gifts and my first time using this recipe (not always a good idea), of course I thought it would be wise to test it out and make sure it tasted all right.

It did. 🙂
So take that, Jack Frost! (insert ninja sounds here)

What first snow traditions do you have? How do you tell Jack Frost to kick it to the curb? Do tell.

Tagged

3 thoughts on “Baby, It’s Cold Outside!

  1. […] couple days ago I told you about the cinnamon swirl bread I made. Those made gifts for a few […]

  2. Brian Elliott says:

    Jessalyn, I am afraid I would gain a lot of weight living at your house. Everything you make look delicious!!!!! love, Mom

    • jkelliott says:

      Thanks for all your support, Mom 🙂 But you taught me well: your motto of “everything in moderation” coupled with portion control lives on here.

Leave a Reply

