Dark Days Indeed

Sigh. It’s been a tough couple of days with my car in the repair shop and discovering that this or that is wrong and needs repairing. I had planned on making a roast chicken Monday evening but it got interrupted by car shuffling. Which then threw off the rest of the week’s menu since I had planned to use the leftover meat in subsequent dinners.

And when I got home from work yesterday I found I had a lot of things to complain about, including not knowing what to make for dinner. But I looked in the fridge and there was my beautiful, local chicken already defrosted and waiting for me, and I thought who says you can’t have a roast on a weeknight? Sure, they’re traditionally reserved for the weekend when you have hours and hours to slow cook the meat. But I suddenly became overwhelmed with a determination to make something beautiful out of the negative feelings I had been harboring all day.

Comfort food at its best. No sides today. Just chicken.

Simple Roast Chicken

– 3 pound-ish whole chicken (from Davis Creek Farm)
– olive oil and salt (freebies)
– Parmesan seasoning mix (nonlocal #1)
– 1 lemon (nonlocal #2)
– bunch of thyme (from my backyard – 20 ft)
– choice of local veggies (I used onions, carrots, and garlic from Meadow Run Farms)

Preheat the oven to 475F (you’ll turn it down later).

Roughly chop the veggies and place in the bottom of a roasting pan. Drizzle with olive oil.

Rub olive oil, salt, and seasoning into the chicken. Slice the lemon in half and place inside the cavity, along with the bundle of thyme. Nestle the chicken on top of the veggies.

Place the whole pan in the oven and turn the heat down to 400F. Cook for about an hour and a half, basting half way with the juices halfway through, if desired.

Remove the chicken from the pan and let rest 10-15 minutes before attempting to slice.

I like buying chickens whole not just because I get to practice my chicken sectioning skills, but also because it’s the freshest way I know how to eat a chicken. It’s also economical. Every part of the chicken gets used: the parts that aren’t eaten get thrown into the pot to help make chicken stock. So, even though I didn’t feel like cooking, I toughened up and summoned enough energy to throw this together and let the oven do its thing. Lets hope that “try, try again” energy stays with me through the rest of the work week.

What did you make this week using local ingredients? Remember there are two ways to share: post a comment describing what you made and how far away the ingredients traveled, or email a photo of what you made to jkelliottinfood [at] gmail{dot}com and I will share it in a post. If you’ve got your own blog on which you are documenting your creations, remember to post a link with your comment. Forgot to make something this week? Join me next week or any week from now through March (review the guidelines here)!

Tagged

One thought on “Dark Days Indeed

  1. […] plated dinners (such as this one-pot wonder, this lovely salad, a different part of the chicken here, and this simple idea), but breakfast is certainly a very important meal too and should not be so […]

Leave a Reply

