Oh No!…Too Light! (Apple-Cheddar Whole Wheat Pancakes)

Well, we ran out of milk. And I really wanted pancakes this morning. Ordinarily this wouldn’t be a problem because I usually have some buttermilk hiding out in the fridge. But my grocery shopping hasn’t been quite as organized as usual, and a certain someone decided to drink the rest of the milk with his cereal this morning.

Ordinarily, this is the no-fail pancake recipe I use:

– 1 cup all-purpose flour
– 1 teaspoon baking soda
– pinch of salt
– 1 cup milk
– 1 egg

Mix the dry ingredients together, add the wet. Scoop by 1/4 cup-ful onto heated, buttered skillet or large nonstick pan. Cook until bubbles form on the surface then flip.

From time to time, I add in other ingredients in addition to my master recipe as I have them on hand. 1 teaspoon cinnamon and a handful of chopped pecans. 1/2 cup grated apple or pear. 1/2 cup mashed banana and chopped walnuts. 1/2 cup thawed blueberries. Chocolate chips and bacon. Use your imagination.

Aside from the substitution of buttermilk for milk, however, I’d never tried anything different for the liquid. Today I tried apple juice.

Inspired by these scones I made a while back, I also added a handful of grated cheddar cheese. They turned out beautifully.

The whole wheat flour stood up to the apple juice, but to bring out the cheddar flavor even more, next time I might try a mixture of half whole wheat and half all-purpose flours.

Appple-Cheddar Whole Wheat Pancakes

– 1 cup whole wheat flour
– 1 teaspoon baking soda
– pinch salt
– 1 egg
– 1 cup apple juice
– 1/2 cup (large handful) grated cheddar cheese

Follow directions in master recipe above.

4 thoughts on “Oh No!…Too Light! (Apple-Cheddar Whole Wheat Pancakes)

  1. Alan J Fink says:

    Hmmmm….I seem to recall similar occurrences with “a certain someone” in the past….

  2. Kristine says:

    …TOO LIGHT!

    Hurry up and drink it! Come on, it’s almost time!
    How do they know that is the DEFINITE EXACT DATE?

  3. […] Pancakes (adapted from Jamie Oliver’s Jamie’s Food Revolution; see also this post) *Need a gluten-free version? Check out my friend Jenni’s blueberry pancakes […]

Leave a Reply

