Getting in Touch with our Granola-Crunching Hippie Selves

Ah, granola. Not something I grew up eating–I was a Cheerios and Rice Krispies girl all the way. I was introduced to granola when one of the moms who drove me to swim practice packed it for me in a little baggie with peanut butter chips and raisins. Then in one of my college seminars–the ones that are small enough that you know everybody’s name and the professor assigns people weeks to bring snacks for the group–someone brought in vanilla yogurt, granola, and fresh raspberries. I thought this was brilliant.

So maybe I was a little slow getting on board the granola train. Alex loves it. And my mom was the one who inspired me to start making my own. It’s really simple to make, and you can mix and match ingredients based on what you like. So won’t you pull out your headbands and moccasins, iron your hair, and strap a guitar to your back–let’s make some granola!

Basic Granola Recipe (adapted from Simply in Season and my mama)
Yum Factor: Alex – 9, Jessalyn – 8
Makes about 3 or 3.5 cups

1. Preheat oven to 350F.

– 2 cups rolled oats
– 1 cup sliced almonds
– 1/4 cup honey
– 1/4 cup vegetable oil (or other lightly flavored oil)
– 1/4 cup brown sugar (or up to 1/2 cup if you’ve got a real sweet-tooth in the house)
– 3/4 teaspoon cinnamon
– 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
2. Mix everything together. Spread the whole mixture out onto a lightly greased, rimmed baking sheet.

3. Bake for 10 minutes, then use a fork to gently mix everything around a bit. Then bake for no more than 10 more minutes.

4. Remove baking sheet from the oven and let it sit for 5 minutes. Then break it up with your fork again–otherwise it’s gonna stick.

Yup, it’s just that simple.

If you’re adding any other ingredients, add them after baking. Last week we added a handful of dried cranberries. This week we added  some crushed banana chips and raisins. Store in an airtight container.

We still enjoy ours most frequently with yogurt, especially in those rushed mornings trying to get out the door and get to work (it also travels well). But certainly there are many other things you can do once you have a batch of granola at your disposal: cookies, bread, fruit parfaits. Check out this list of ideas that came up in my blog reader last week.

Crunch crunch crunch. What do you like in your granola? Missed out on the 60s? Have a laugh and find out your hippie name here if you’re a chick and here if you’re a dude. (Jessalyn got “Lilac” and Alex got “Cosmic”). What’s yours?

8 thoughts on “Getting in Touch with our Granola-Crunching Hippie Selves

  1. Michael says:

    I LOVE granola. I am excited to make granola… Sarah says it’s something she would like to do as well… and we are always eating vanilla yogurt in this house.

    Oh, and my hippie name is Feelfree… ?

    • Jessalyn says:

      Well Feelfree to tell me what kind of granola you make that you like! Whole Foods used to make this Banana Nut Crunch granola that I loved. I could never detect any bananas in it–only a slight banana flavor. It was oaty and contained cashews. Yum.

  2. Alan says:

    Looks great! I will have to try this. Any clue as to what the caloric/fat content might be?? (….I know, stupid question.)

    • Jessalyn says:

      While I couldn’t give you an accurate answer, I’d venture a guess that it’s pretty low-fat. The fat that is in the almonds is the good-for-you monounsaturated fat. I use regular canola oil which adds a smidgey amount of fat, but you could use an oil that is higher in monounsaturated fat such as sunflower oil or possibly avocado oil or maybe even walnut oil? Granola isn’t meant to be eaten by the baking sheet-ful anyway so I’d say you should feel no guilt adding a generous handful to your morning yogurt or evening ice cream. 🙂

  3. Christina says:

    I made this yesterday afternoon and we’ve loved snacking on it… and I love that I had all of the ingredients on-hand. I’m excited to try it with some different twists. Thanks, Jessalyn!

  4. […] as the seasons change. I’ve shared recipes for some of these spring dishes before (like the granola and the hard-boiled eggs). But do let me know if you’d like a recipe for any of the others by […]

  5. […] mini-muffins, granola bars, mini egg frittatas, and poached fruit with yogurt (and sometimes with granola)…whose recipes and variations I share […]

Leave a Reply

