Dark Days: A Local Breakfast

Well, I’m still eating at least one completely locally sourced meal each week. Previous meals have been full plated dinners (such as this one-pot wonder, this lovely salad, a different part of the chicken here, and this simple idea), but breakfast is certainly a very important meal too and should not be so easily dismissed.

I’ve read that chickens do not produce eggs quite so abundantly in the colder months, but luckily I’ve still been able to find my favorite local eggs with relative success. I always stock up when I see them at the grocery store (too many times I’ve walked by the egg case and they were sold out of my favorite farm’s eggs; now I always buy at least two dozen at a time).

Hard-boiled Eggs
Note: Nothing fancy about the way I make ’em. But I thought I’d explain it anyway, in case you want to know how.

– eggs (from Timbercreek Organics)

1. Put the number of eggs you’d like to cook in a small saucepan (I usually make a couple extra and keep ’em in the fridge so they’re ready to go on busy mornings). Add enough water to cover.

2. Bring to a boil. Once it’s boiling, turn off the heat and put the lid on the saucepan. Take the pan off the heat and let sit for 11 minutes. Don’t lift the lid to check on them! They’ll be fine.

3. At the 11-minute mark, immediately drain and rinse eggs with cold water for at least 1 minute. Store in the fridge until ready to eat.

4. To eat: Crack the egg gently all over and carefully peel off the outer shell. Slice if desired and sprinkle with salt and pepper.

Presto! C’est chouette! (It’s cool!) I must emphasize the importance of using good eggs for achieving optimal results, but this formula should give you good results every time.

What did you make this week? Now that you see how simple eating a local meal once a week can be, are you interested in joining my Dark Days Challenge? I’d love to know what you’re up to in these dark days of winter. (But surely spring is on its way; it was still kind of light outside when I got home from work!)

Or perhaps you’d rather share your favorite way to enjoy eggs? Do tell.

One thought on “Dark Days: A Local Breakfast

  1. […] change. I’ve shared recipes for some of these spring dishes before (like the granola and the hard-boiled eggs). But do let me know if you’d like a recipe for any of the others by leaving a comment […]

Leave a Reply

