Dark Days: The Not-So-Local Salmon Meal

Admittedly, I’m kind of breaking my own rules with this meal. But because it’s a friend’s family business, I really wanted to share this and count it as my Dark Days challenge this week for its efforts to support small farmers who believe in high-quality products and sustainable efforts.

I’m speaking of Wild Kenai Red Salmon. Pictured here is the “Borealis Smoked Salmon.” If you check out their website, you’ll notice that they’re based in Alaska–hardly local when you live in Virginia (In fact, it’s about 4,500 miles from my house to their processing facility). But thanks to a benevolent arrangement of things (including the fact that Graham, the son, is a University of Virginia graduate), their fish is now available in some nearby stores here in Virginia. And while I could have ordered directly through the website, I opted to support my local businesses at the same time.

The flavor was unlike any other smoked salmon I’ve ever had. At once smoky and rich with just a hint of sweetness in the reddish-pink flesh. I reluctantly stopped myself from simply eating it plain long enough to put some in a spinach salad dressed with a simple French vinaigrette and diced roasted red peppers.

Thanks for a quality product, Wild Kenai!

Spring is just around the corner, but what have you been up to in the kitchen? What kinds of local meals have you been making? Email me your story and photo (itstartedwithyum {at} gmail [dot] com) or post as a comment below. We’re almost through the Dark Days!

5 thoughts on “Dark Days: The Not-So-Local Salmon Meal

  1. Jenni says:

    That looks delicious! How do you cook your salmon? I always have trouble with it – it’s either too raw or overcooked. Any recommendations?

    • Jessalyn says:

      Hey Jenni! This salmon was actually smoked so it doesn’t need cooking. But my favorite way to cook salmon fillets is on the grill. It doesn’t take very long at all. Maybe we can make some next week!

  2. Lisa says:

    Just read an email msg from a local (Madison County, VA) distribution list that mentioned & linked to your blog & this post specifically. Yay! I love your blog. It’s terrific on so many levels…I signed up to receive emails about your new posts & I know I’ll be checking back often, and sharing what I find here too. Thanks!

  3. […] Dark Days: The Not-so-Local Salmon Meal […]

Leave a Reply

