New projects? Yes, peas.

I have a couple ideas for new blog projects brewing in my noggin. Sometimes it can get a little monotonous coming up with creative and interesting things to say to accompany these recipes, especially after a long day at work, tending to the garden, and tidying our there’s-always-a-mess-in-at-least-one-room home, so I like to set small goals for myself of things to write about regularly under a common theme. In the past, I’ve shared projects such as making a plate look better, and challenging myself to eat local during the winter, and even a cookie war with Alex. It helps give some routine and structure to my blogging week and perhaps gives you something interesting to look forward to (I hope).

It won’t be long before I’m ready to reveal my new short term projects, but in the meantime, here’s a yummy mulling-it-over meal (and it’s a Jamie Oliver recipe at that, in honor of my excitement over the upcoming second season of Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution).

Pasta in a Light Cream Sauce with Minted Peas and Bacon (from Jamie Oliver’s Jamie’s Food Revolution)
Yum Factor: Alex – 7, Jessalyn – 7

– 1/2 pound fusili pasta
– 8 strips bacon, chopped
– 1 1/2 cups frozen peas
– 2 tablespoons heavy cream
– small handful fresh mint, chopped
– handful parmesan cheese, grated

1. Cook the pasta according to package directions. Drain and set aside until needed.

2. In the meantime, cook the bacon over medium heat in a heavy skillet until golden. Turn down the heat to medium-low and add the peas. When the peas no longer look frozen, add the cream and mint and bring to a simmer.

3. Add the pasta and toss together with the parmesan cheese. Serve warm.

I know it may look as if I make something new and exciting for dinner every night, but I assure you that is not the case. This is one of those comforting meals that I have made more than once (but I’m pretty sure this is the first time I’ve blogged about it). Frozen peas are so convenient, and they go quite well with mint and with bacon, which makes the dish both sweet and savory with just the slightest salty bite from the parmesan.

Do you have a mulling-it-over meal? I’m not sure that this exactly qualifies as brain food, but it’s comforting and yet still spring-y at the same time. Have you got a comforting spring favorite?

Leave a Reply

