Anatomical Fruit Humor

When I traveled to France several years ago, a popular summer dessert was anything with apricots (abricots, in French), my favorite among them being an apricot fruit crumble of sorts. I’ve not seen many apricots in Virginia, for some reason. Plums and peaches, yes. Apricots? No. But I was fortunate enough to procure some from my local big-box grocery store the other day (probably shipped in from California). And so surprised was I to find them (and in good condition), I bought 10 of those beauties immediately.

When they had ripened to a slightly soft firmness on my countertop, I washed them and prepared them not for fruit crumble, but rather for jam. And as I stared at them on my kitchen counter, my eyebrows furrowed in concentration, and then arched in laughter.

Oh, come on, you know you see 9 little apricot rear-ends mooning you, too. Well, don’t you?

Okay, well, I’ll return from 5th grade now.

In any case, I turned them into some delightful apricot-rum jam and photographed them looking a bit more classy on my morning windowsill:

The recipe was inspired from one I found in Well Preserved by Joan Hassol, but I’m not quite ready to share my technique yet. But give me some time while I hunt down some more apricots and perfect my fanny-to-jammie strategy (that’s fanny in the American sense of the word, not the British version, thanks), and I will share soon enough.

(I will also be posting periodically sharing the jam recipes I have made up to that point, so keep freezing your fruits while you find them in season and stay tuned!)

And, well, elementary or not, may you continue to find humor in the silly little things that fruits and vegetables make us laugh about.

Tagged

3 thoughts on “Anatomical Fruit Humor

  1. Brian Elliott says:

    Have you tasted the jam? It looks really good!

  2. Nicole says:

    My mouth instantly started watering when the picture came up on my newsfeed and I thought of apricot jam (:

Leave a Reply

