Sesame Green Beans

I looove green beans! Not the Southern, cooked-to-death, almost brown kind of green beans. I like ’em bright green, crisp, and seasoned very, very lightly. Like this:

I’ve been craving Korean food recently, so I used a very classic Korean dressing as a quick, simple sauce to dress up these sauteed green beans (it’s a dressing I’ve used many times, most often to make this spinach namuhl dish).

Sesame Green Beans

– 1 tablespoon toasted sesame oil
– 1 teaspoon soy sauce (I used gluten-free Tamari)
– 1 teaspoon sesame seeds
– 1/4 teaspoon minced ginger
– 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
– 1/8 teaspoon salt
1. Mix dressing ingredients together in a bowl. 

I also just happened to have some garlic scapes, so I minced up a generous tablespoon of those to add to the dressing.

2. Trim the ends off a handful of green beans and saute over high heat in a tiny bit of vegetable oil in your favorite wok or skillet. Give them a toss every minute or so.

3. When they are sizzling, have brightened in their green color, and have started to get the slightest of char marks, turn off the heat, pour over the dressing, and give ’em a good toss.

I ate mine with some leftover brown rice and a seasoned beef/tofu patty that I acquired from my Korean friend at the farmer’s market. But really, I could have just munched on those green beans all evening long and been totally happy.

Green beans don’t last too long in the fridge. They’re best eaten super fresh. I don’t think you’ll have any trouble finishing them off if you eat ’em this way.

One thought on “Sesame Green Beans

  1. Love green beans this way and I love to hit mine with a big dose of Sriracha or chili garlic sauce.

Leave a Reply

