Back in the Swing of Things

Were you worried I haven’t been eating?

Hello, friends. Ordinarily I try to avoid long periods of blogging absence. And even when I am absent, I try to avoid acknowledging the fact that I have been absent by simply continuing on my merry blogging way, picking up right where I left off.

Unfortunately, this time I think I have far exceeded the window of forgiveness for not acknowledging my absence. 

So, without making excuses, I’ve been busy. Work. Wedding planning. Redoing our kitchen. Also, I seem to have somehow time-travelled through the month of August because I basically missed it. Cuh-razy!

And because I’m just now getting around to going through the photos I’ve been taking – because I have been eating, I assure you – there’s not much of a pattern to what I’m about to share. I saved a few photos for a back-up post day, but why don’t we just call this a snapshot of my life for the past month or so, mmkay? 

After a long hiatus, we’ve officially reinstated Friday night pizza night. Here’s a “leftovers” pizza made with stuff that was just hanging around: onions, tomatoes that are practically falling off the vine (more on that later this week), and roast chicken.

Despite having eaten over a year’s worth of my cooking, Alex still has a special place in his heart for chicken fingers. Here I’ve made them a bit classier by seasoning the breading with “everything” bagel topping and adding a simple herb salad with avocado and lemon dressing.

I buy Alex one watermelon a year. It’s not that we don’t like watermelon. They’re just so huge! And they take up so much room in the fridge! Plus, with just the two of us, it lasts forever. Here is a lovely and refreshing salad I made with watermelon, tomatoes, goat cheese, and basil. Yes, Alex picked out all the watermelon and left me the tomatoes.

Happy birthday, brother! (Notice he’s eating off of the awesome ‘you are special today’ red plate that was given to me at my bridal shower). He brought his girlfriend (who happens to be named Alex) to dinner and we had barbecue chicken, sauteed onions and peppers, and homemade tortillas. And yellow cupcakes with chocolate ganache frosting. Which I seem to have forgotten to take a picture of. (And yes, this is at our house. So consider this a preview for our home improvement reveal).

Alex caught a cold over the Labor Day holiday so we ate a lot of soup that week. It started out with tomato soup (from a box) and grilled cheese.

But when that didn’t seem to do the trick, we switched to homemade chicken noodle. And as I stood there dicing up my celery and onions and carrots, and thought about how silly it is to buy a whole head of celery when I only need two or three stalks, I decided that this year, beginning the first week of fall, I’m going to increase my soup repertoire by making one soup a week through fall and winter. We’ll tentatively call it my soup project (until I can come with a snazzier name).

Having finished making our Hawaii honeymoon arrangements, we suddenly had a craving for coconut shrimp. Note: I have no idea what nationality coconut shrimp are, and my knowledge of Hawaiian cuisine is sadly lacking. You’ll also see some deep-friend squash on this plate–Alex seemed to enjoy it, but I did not find it very appetizing.

So that’s what we’ve been up to.

Correction.

That’s what we’ve been up to amid these kitchen updates:

Yes, we’re now in cabinet-painting mode. Plus selecting new hardware. So you do not want to see what the rest of our house looks like: tripping hazards and drop cloths everywhere! This weekend we started on the upper cabinets. In the coming weeks we’ll tackle the lower cabinets, drawers, and island. And please excuse the strange shadows and tape marks on the wall of the dining room–we’re getting ready to hang a mirror and switch out the light fixture. Fun! Big shout-out to my husband-to-be for being a handyman and helping me with some of these projects.

So what have you been up to since last we met? Did you skip over August too? Or did you get stuck in those lazyhazycrazy days of summer?

While you’re leaving a comment, go ahead and vote for the dish you saw here whose recipe you’d like me to share on Thursday of this week:

– Pizza
– “Everything” Chicken Tenders
– Watermelon-Tomato Salad
– Lee’s birthday meal
– Grilled Cheese
– Chicken Noodle Soup
– Coconut Shrimp 

Glad to be back.

Tagged

3 thoughts on “Back in the Swing of Things

  1. Harris says:

    Soup! I just roasted my first whole chicken last night. I need to use up all the parts and pieces.

  2. Nicole says:

    soup please!!! i have a great chicken noodle soup recipe from scott’s mom, but i would love another to play with and we have a whole chicken in the freezer right now!

  3. […] fall is here, and that means the start of my one soup per week project. As I began to discuss in a previous post, I’m making one soup per week in order […]

Leave a Reply

