Honey Cake

Honey cake. Just the name sounds happy and sweet, doesn’t it? Not like a honey-do list, which sounds nice but is really just a list of chores disguised in pretty-please language. I know what you’re thinking, ladies. Maybe… if you make honey cake for your honey, everything on the honey-do list will magically get accomplished.

Well, I haven’t tested that theory, so I couldn’t say for sure. But I did make honey cake in the tradition of Rosh Hashanah and following the wisdom of Smitten Kitchen to wish Alex a sweet new year. I had thought it would magically awaken some childhood memory of eating honey cake, but it appears this was actually the first time he’d ever eaten it. Oops. Nevertheless, it was wonderfully moist, contained enough honey that the depth of honey flavor could actually be detected, and tasted quintessentially of fall, thanks to all the cinnamon, cloves, and allspice. 

I know, right? It’s darker in color than I expected it to be. For some reason I guess I had initially envisioned a Goldilocks-colored crumb. That must be the connotation I have in my head for the color of honey.

I enjoyed my slice(s) of cake plain. It would also be excellent topped with some homemade applesauce. Or baked apples. Alex asked for vanilla ice cream, which I suppose would work as well.

I won’t re-post the recipe because you can just click here to view it at Smitten Kitchen–I followed it pretty much exactly and baked in a bundt pan, though I didn’t have any of the cake-sinking issues that she describes. Definitely keeping this in my fall repertoire. 

Are there honey cakes in your past? (Or your future?) What dessert makes you think of fall? Something warm and comforting, I hope. This just may be the weekend to get in your kitchen and bake something fall-ish. So what are you waiting for? Get to it!

Tagged

Leave a Reply

