An Orderly State of Things (+Giveaway!)

We’ve been doing a lot of spring cleaning around here, both inside and outside of the house. Planting tender seedlings into bigger pots, purging closets and cabinets that had semi-digested clothes or other items we no longer use, mowing the lawn to keep the homeowner’s association happy, and giving everything in the house a good thorough dusting to mop up all the pollen that has found its way into our lives. This weekend, the theme of the organizing had to do with soldierly-like arrangements. And, like a neatly plucked eyebrow, there is a certain satisfaction in nice neat rows of orderly things, wouldn’t you agree? Let’s have a look around our backyard homestead for some examples, shall we?

A wall of stately stones helps us navigate the slight slope of the sunnier side of the yard where four garden beds will find their home (there are currently two beds in place behind the wall; two more will eventually be dug in front of it). The wall is about 16 feet long; this photo shows about 10 feet's worth. Nero is so ready for more digging action!

Baby lettuces participate in some group stretching after a nice shower

A nice arrangement of planters at the edge of the patio keeps mint (spearmint and chocolate mint) in isolation. Probably going to add some decorative flowers in the bigger planter that is currently empty.

A recent rain gutter installation permitted us to move our rain barrel across the patio to a more suitable location (i.e., where the rain falls...). It is propped up on two cinder blocks (into which I hope to plant some simple flowers) on a freshly landscape-fabric-ed and mulched area next to the back gate. First time using recycled landscape fabric; gotta tell ya it felt kind of like I was putting undergarments on that section of dirt...

And here's the big announcement: I've opened a shop on Etsy! Look at some of my items all nicely listed in a row online. There are more items coming very soon (including lip balm!). You can add me to your favorite shops to stay up-to-date.

So yay! My Etsy shop is called Highlands Homestead and you can browse through it here. What will you find there? Small-batch handcrafted goods made with love and, in most items, something that I grew myself. 

Two of the products that I have currently listed include Jam-a-Grams (my take on yummy jam that arrives with a message) which come in a variety of flavors based on what’s available in season, and a rosemary-peppermint shampoo soap. To celebrate the opening of my shop, I’m hosting my very first giveaway here on It Started with Yum!

One lucky winner will win his/her choice of a 2.75-oz. shampoo bar or a 4-oz. jam-a-gram.

To be eligible to win, simply leave a comment on this post telling me what things around your home you like to keep neat and orderly.

Contest closes Saturday, April 21 at 11:59 P.M. (EST). I will contact the winner directly and post results here on Sunday, the 22nd. At this time, I can only ship to U.S. winners only.

Update: This contest is now closed.

Just a simple way to celebrate a small change in my life and thank you for your readership. Good luck! 

 

Tagged

5 thoughts on “An Orderly State of Things (+Giveaway!)

  1. Harrison McGehee says:

    I liike to keep my spice rack (and cabinet) organized, but it’s so tough. Tara and I love your Jam-a-gram idea and wish you lots of success in your venture!

    • Jessalyn says:

      Thanks, Harris! I recently re-organized my spice rack/cabinet, but still have random bags or jars spilling over…There is something satisfying about a tidy spice rack though, isn’t there

  2. Jane says:

    i like to keep my kitchen in order

  3. cgmuro says:

    So cool, Jessalyn! I like to keep my my half bath super neat and orderly… I figure that when people come over it’s the only place they will really be alone and able to peek around.

Comments are closed.

