Get in our Bellies

Here’s a snapshot of what we’ve been eating recently:

Whole wheat blueberry muffins topped with homemade vanilla sugar. This is how blueberry muffins are supposed to look. Huge blueberries burst throughout and oozing their purple juice down the sides of the muffin wrappers. When I found this recipe, I had a flashback to this movie I watched over and over as a young child in which a single muffin is magically split into several perfect looking pieces, and I thought, I just thought, that this muffin would resemble that fictitious muffin exactly. 

I’ll let you judge for yourself (the muffin, not my song-filled childhood). Fast-forward to about 3:30 (or don’t, if you want to sing a rousing rendition of “Do you know the muffin man?”):

Gotta admit. My blueberry muffin actually looks better. And they taste fantastic. (Crossfitters, there’s some brief double-unders action at about 6:50 in the same video). Let’s move on to lunch, shall we?

Deviled eggs with chives! (adapted from this recipe originally published in Southern Living). The eggs are from my new favorite local farm, and the chives are from my patio. I’ve never been a huge deviled eggs fan, but Alex loves them. I must admit, these turned out quite tasty!

For dinner, how about some pork meatballs made with an extra spoonful of dijon mustard, and a cauliflower “rice” pilaf cooked with diced apricots and raisins.

What have you been eating lately? Did you sing along with the Wee Sing casette tapes? (Pretty sure I owned the whole collection). Bonus points: Can you guess which of these three meals was made by Alex?

P.S. Congrats to cgmuro who was randomly selected from all the commenters on my first giveaway. She likes to keep her guest bathroom neat and organized, and will be receiving a jar of blueberry-rhubarb jam. Thanks to everyone who participated.

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Get in our Bellies

  1. Nicole says:

    Hmmm… i thought he made the meatballs but scotty bet on the eggs. which one was it?!?!

Leave a Reply

