Zucchinis Gone Wild

Alex, Nero, and I have safely returned from a little vacation in Florida and New Orleans (more on that later this week, perhaps). Before we left, I doused our garden with water.

I also asked a friendly neighbor to water the plants in our absence if it didn’t rain, and, as humble payment, to please take any produce that ripened while we were away.

It must have rained. Or my friendly neighbor doesn’t like zucchini. Because I harvested this today:

Cherry tomatoes that made a lovely salad for my lunch, a big rainbow tomato which I am looking forward to slicing up later this week, and a butternut squash? No. People, that is a 3.2 pound zucchini. Probably not up to world record standards, but definitely large with a capital L.

I don’t know yet what I’ll be making with it, and I imagine its flavor won’t be quite as concentrated as it might have been if picked in the more normal size range, but in case you are up to your eyeballs in zucchini of any size, I’ve collected here are some zucchini recipes I’ve previously written about:

Zucchini Fritters

Zucchini Pasta

Zucchini Cookies

Zucchini is quickly becoming one of those words that I’ve written so many times in this post it doesn’t look like a real word any more (and the summer’s not even half over!). What do you like to do with zucchini? How about if it’s extra extra large? Do tell.

One thought on “Zucchinis Gone Wild

  1. Brian Elliott says:

    How about zucchini bread?

Leave a Reply

