Front Door Update

This post requires some audience participation. Let’s practice. Ready?

Repeat after me.

ooOOooh!

aaAAaahh!

Very good. Here we go.

Here’s our old front door.

(ooOOooh!)

Here’s our new front door:

(aaAAaahh!)

And here’s our front door now, looking not so naked:

(ooOOooh! aaAAaahh!)

I’m quite satisfied. FINALLY our front entry looks polished. Homey. Welcoming. Whimsical, with just a touch of crafty. Fun! Like us!

I was pleasantly surprised to pick up that blank grapevine wreath form at Michael’s for $4.99 (I was bracing myself for a bigger price tag and trying to convince myself that I would consider it an investment and reuse it over and over, changing its decor as the seasons passed. Luckily, I need not have worried–looks like it’s only the already-arranged wreaths for which the price is jacked way up). I picked up three of the biggest, most interesting silk flowers I could find (also at Michael’s), trimmed them and just wedged them into the wreath’s branches. I figure I can swap them out to accommodate holidays, new colors, or whenever the mood strikes.

Including the over-the-door wreath hanger, this DIY wreath came in at under $20. Woo! What do you think? What makes you think “ooOOooh/aaAAaahh” or maybe just makes you feel “home” about a front door? Are you a house numbers person? Wreath? Artwork? Monograms? Do tell.

And click back here to read more about painting the front door mint green.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Front Door Update

  1. arzea says:

    This looks great! Fabulous job!

  2. Carrie says:

    ooOOooh/aaAAaahh…. =) I love it!!

Leave a Reply

