Holiday Photo Outtakes with Commentary

Well it’s that time of year again. Some would even say the most wonderful time of the year.

I say photographing two dogs and yourselves by yourself is harder than it looks. We had enough trouble with our 2011 photo, and that only had 1 dog (look how little Nero looks!):

Christmas 2011

So this year I thought I would get a head start. Warning: lots of adorable, anthropomorphic dog photos to follow…

I got Nero all dressed up in his festive bowtie collar and, like a good boy, he obligingly helped me capture this:

DSCF1073-1

Which Rogue then photobombed, unplugging one strand of lights with her awkward adolescent paws, while likely saying this: “Mom! I can’t believe you’re making me wear this silly skirt! This better not be posted in public!”

Rogue wonders why there is a tree skirt draped over her rear

So we tried a different tactic, this time one dog at a time, and with the help of some props (it’ll make more sense in a second, I promise). Once again, Nero waited patiently while I tried to capture the perfect shot.

NerO

And then Rogue photobombed us again. Here she is being dramatic while Nero looks annoyed:

Rogue, about to do her fainting couch impersonation

But when it was Rogue’s turn with her own prop (and yes, the Christmas skirt again), she initially seemed more interested in doggie Granny’s hand, hoping a treat would magically appear if she nuzzled those fingers enough:

Rogue attempts to be photographed

And of course Alex and I couldn’t get a photo of ourselves without a Rogue photobomb (her record is impeccable, I tell ya):

In which Rogue and Nero actually WANT to be in the holiday photo

Even when I was just setting up the camera and taking a couple practice shots (while testing Alex’s patience), she snuck in there with her dramatic sighs:

I spy a doggie being dramatic

But finally, finally, we got a winner:

Christmas card 2012

I love how it captures Rogue’s silliness and her love for getting her belly rubbed. It also captures Nero’s charm and inquisitiveness. And the photo of us isn’t too shabby either!

Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukkah, Happy New Year, and Happy Holidays! May your homes and families be filled with joy! Love, Rogue, Nero, Jessalyn, and Alex.

P.S. Have any tips for photographing dogs? Do tell.

P.P.S. Stay tuned tomorrow for a special collaborative post and holiday craft with my dear friend, Carrie!

4 thoughts on “Holiday Photo Outtakes with Commentary

  1. jenny says:

    ahh was so excited to get this in the mail yesterday! I love being able to see the ‘how they were made’ here on the blog 🙂 also love the twinkling of the xmas lights, so festive!!! happy holidays 🙂 🙂

  2. Carrie says:

    Oh I love it so so much!!! Good work =)

  3. Danielle says:

    Love our card. So very inventive and cute!

Leave a Reply

