January Cure Recap, Week 1

As I mentioned a couple days ago, I am trying out Apartment Therapy’s #januarycure for tips and motivation to get the house in shape. I signed up for the email list and subsequently receive daily advice with an assignment. And when I open each new assignment in my inbox I alternate between humming the Mission Impossible theme song and the doo bee doo bee doo bah part from the Perry the Platypus theme song before announcing to myself “your mission, should you choose to accept it…” (the dogs act interested, but then they just cock their heads and resume their tug-of-war game).

Anyway, since there are assignments every day, I will do a recap on Fridays of this month so that you can see my weekly progress on all of the assignments.

Assignment 1: Make a project list

#Januarycure

#Januarycure

I already wrote about this assignment on the inaugural day (read more here), but to recap, I made a list of all the things that were bothering me about the house. I was pleasantly surprised to discover it was way fewer things than what I had created in my head. I then highlighted the things that would make the most immediate and biggest impacts on each space in my house, and knocked 4 of them out in 10 minutes. Three cheers for dispelling illusions and making cathartic lists.

Assignment 2: Make and fill an “outbox”

#januarycure Outbox in my closet

#januarycure Outbox in my closet

Me likey the outbox. It’s like clutter purgatory–where extraneous stuff goes to await judgment day. The key, I think, is that nothing goes there to die; frequent check-ins will insure that stuff gets moved out of the outbox fairly regularly, whether they find a new home in our house or are trashed or donated or sold elsewhere. I picked a spot in my closet (and did use an actual box, though that wasn’t required, and you can now see that it is currently overflowing) to stash anything and everything that was clutter or that I had meaning to do something with but hadn’t gotten around to it yet. Just a few of the things that ended up there: a plastic poncho from an Eagles game, some household cleaners left over from the previous owners, some pillows whose covers have been ripped by the dogs but whose pillow forms are still intact, a bag of old cell phone chargers, and more. All I had to do in this assignment was put at least one thing in the outbox. Now that I have accepted its presence in our home, I’m told I will return to it to sort and reassign the items to their fates.

Assignment 3 (weekend): Buy Flowers, Vacuum, Mop, Gather Earth Friendly Cleaners & Use Your Outbox

Baby's breath (follow me on instagram @jessalynf)

#januarycure Get fresh flowers

Thanks to my daily chores list and my already established arsenal of earth-friendly cleaners (more on that next week), vacuuming and mopping area already taken care of for the week! That left me with acquiring flowers and using the outbox. I picked up these blooms at the supermarket. I know, I know… baby’s breath is such a simple flower. But I just love how they look when you get a big bunch of them together (I even used them for my bridesmaids’ bouquets!).

Copyright Adam Barnes Photography 2011

Copyright Adam Barnes Photography 2011

 Plus, January is a sparse month, you know? I wanted the flowers to reflect the hibernation of living things going on outside, so simple is good. These baby’s breath (breaths?) remind me of a light dusting of snow. Now I will experiment with the perfect spot to display them…

Won’t you join me in the January Cure? Happy weekend!

Tagged

5 thoughts on “January Cure Recap, Week 1

  1. […] Read more in this homekeeping mini-series: – Once monthly deep-cleaning – Our daily chores – Apartment Therapy’s January Cure (Week 1) […]

  2. […] Check out the other posts in this homekeeping mini-series: – Our daily chores – Breakfast and dessert routines – Apartment Therapy’s January Cure re-cap (Week 1) […]

  3. […] – Daily chores – Food routines – Once-monthly deep cleaning routines – Apartment Therapy’s January Cure re-cap (Week 1) […]

  4. […] As you may know, I’m participating in Apartment Therapy’s January Cure (#januarycure) to join a community of folks whipping their homes into shape throughout the first month of the new year. By signing up, I gain valuable tips for seeing my space in a new way, as well as assignments to complete each day that keep me focused on making progress. (Read the Week 1 re-cap here). […]

  5. […] How to Deep-Clean your House in 25 minutes or less, once a month – January Cure re-cap (Week 1, Week 2) – Breakfast and Dessert […]

Leave a Reply

